Jump to main content


Leinster ‘A’ Open Cup Campaign Against Esher

Leinster ‘A’ Open Cup Campaign Against Esher

The Leinster ‘A’ team to face Esher in Saturday afternoon’s opening round of the British & Irish Cup at Molesey Road (kick-off 3pm) has been named.

Dominic Ryan captains a side which is mixed with youth and experience for the clash in London and he features in a back row with Leo Auva’a and Ciaran Ruddock, who have both featured for the province’s senior team this season.

Jamie Hagan starts in the front row alongside Aaron Dundon and Jack O’Connell, with Steven Sykes completing the pack alongside fellow lock Mark Flanagan.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

John Cooney starts at half-back alongside Noel Reid in a backs division which contains players who have all progressed through the Leinster Academy in recent years.

Amongst them is Fionn Carr and Darren Hudson who, alongside Ruddock, scored two tries in the Leinster ‘A’ side’s recent 46-19 victory over Ulster Ravens at Donnybrook.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Esher): Andrew Conway; Darren Hudson, Brendan Macken, Colm O’Shea, Fionn Carr; Noel Reid, John Cooney; Jack O’Connell, Aaron Dundon, Jamie Hagan, Steven Sykes, Mark Flanagan, Ciaran Ruddock, Dominic Ryan (capt), Leo Auva’a.

Replacements: Tom Sexton, Martin Moore, Ben Marshall, Conor Gilsenan, Luke McGrath, Cathal Marsh, Daniel Riordan.