Jump to main content


Munster Squad Selected For Saints Clash

Munster Squad Selected For Saints Clash

The Munster players assembled at Cork IT today where head coach Tony McGahan named an extended 29-man squad for their Heineken Cup Pool 1 opener against Northampton Saints at Thomond Park on Saturday (kick-off 6pm).

With the exception of knee injury victim Keith Earls, it is the same squad as the the one that was named before last weekend’s RaboDirect PRO12 derby clash with Leinster.

Earls sustained medial ligament damage in his left knee at the start of that game and will be out of action for four to six weeks.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

He joins a considerable injury list for the province which is headed by the likes of David Wallace (knee), Felix Jones (ankle), Jerry Flannery (back/calf) and Mike Sherry (ankle).

If John Hayes gets some game-time against Northampton, last season’s beaten finalists, the veteran prop will become the first player to make 100 appearances in the Heineken Cup.

Meanwhile, the Munster ‘A’ British & Irish Cup squad will not be named today with the necessity to confirm two matchday squads over the next two days.

MUNSTER Squad (v Northampton Saints) – Backs (13): Conor Murray, Tomas O’Leary, Peter Stringer, Duncan Williams, Ronan O’Gara, Ian Keatley, Scott Deasy, Johne Murphy, Doug Howlett, Danny Barnes, Will Chambers, Lifeimi Mafi, Denis Hurley.

Forwards (16): Marcus Horan, Wian du Preez, BJ Botha, John Hayes, Stephen Archer, Damien Varley, Denis Fogarty, Donnacha Ryan, Paul O’Connell, Donncha O’Callaghan, Mick O’Driscoll, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan, Denis Leamy.