Jump to main content


Connacht Choose Squad For Ulster Game

Connacht Choose Squad For Ulster Game

Connacht head coach Eric Elwood has announced a 28-man squad ahead of Saturday’s RaboDirect PRO12 derby encounter with Ulster at Ravenhill (kick-off 5.35pm).

The westerners’ squad will train today before the final team selection is announced on Friday afternoon.

The extended panel includes three former Ulster players named – out-half Niall O’Connor, flanker Thomas Anderson and winger Mark McCrea.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

O’Connor kicked two conversions and a penalty in last weekend’s defeat to the Cardiff Blues, while McCrea scored a try in Connacht’s recent victory over the Scarlets at the Sportsground.

Meanwhile, with the kick-off of the Heineken Cup next week, Connacht have launched ‘the Green Mile’.

This route, from Salthill to the Sportsground, will be decked out with Connacht flags, bunting, road stencils and posters with messages of support for the team ahead of their first Heineken Cup campaign.

For more details on the Green Mile and to be part of this historic occasion, please visit the Connacht Rugby Facebook page (www.facebook.com/connachtrugby).

CONNACHT Squad (v Ulster) – Backs (13): Paul O’Donohoe, Frank Murphy, Miah Nikora, Brian Tuohy, Matthew Jarvis, Niall O’Connor, Gavin Duffy, David McSharry, Fetu’u Vainikolo, Tiernan O’Halloran, Henry Fa’afili, Eoin Griffin, Mark McCrea.

Forwards (15): Brett Wilkinson, Ronan Loughney, Stewart Maguire, Dylan Rogers, Rodney Ah You, Ethienne Reynecke, Adrian Flavin, Michael Swift, David Gannon, Mike McCarthy, John Muldoon, Thomas Anderson, Ray Ofisa, Eoghan Grace, George Naoupu.