Jump to main content


Cullen Back To Lead Leinster

Cullen Back To Lead Leinster

The Leinster team to face Edinburgh in Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash at Murrayfield (kick-off 7.35pm) has been named.

Leo Cullen captains the side and is one of 10 Ireland internationals in the starting line-up, amongst them is hooker Sean Cronin who makes his full debut for the province.

Cronin starts in the front row alongside his Rugby World Cup colleague Mike Ross and South African Heinke van der Merwe.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Luke Fitzgerald will makes his 90 appearance for the province, moving to the left wing in a back-three which also includes brothers Rob and David Kearney.

Eoin O’Malley forms a centre partnership with the returning Fergus McFadden, with two more of Ireland’s World Cup squad members, Jonathan Sexton and Isaac Boss, linking up at half-back.

Fionn Carr joins the likes of Rhys Ruddock, Richardt Strauss and Steven Sykes on the replacements bench.

Scrum half Cillian Willis was not required to travel. His short term contract with Leinster has concluded, allowing him to play for Greystones in the Ulster Bank League this weekend.

LEINSTER (v Edinburgh): Rob Kearney; David Kearney, Eoin O’Malley, Fergus McFadden, Luke Fitzgerald; Jonathan Sexton, Isaac Boss; Heinke van der Merwe, Sean Cronin, Mike Ross, Leo Cullen (capt), Devin Toner, Kevin McLaughlin, Dominic Ryan, Leo Auva’a.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Jack McGrath, Nathan White, Steven Sykes, Rhys Ruddock, John Cooney, Ian Madigan, Fionn Carr.