Jump to main content


Connacht Choose Extended Squad

Connacht Choose Extended Squad

Connacht head coach Eric Elwood has announced an extended squad ahead of their RaboDirect PRO12 clash with the Cardiff Blues on Saturday night.

The 25-man squad sees the return from injury of George Naoupu, Eoin Griffin and Miah Nikora with Tongan Fetu’u Vainikolo back from Rugby World Cup duty.

Fetu’u starred in Tonga’s warm-up games, scoring a try against Fiji, and played a huge role in their narrow loss to Canada in the World Cup pool stages.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The 26-year-old winger who was born in Tofoa, scored Tonga’s winning try in their pool victory over Japan.

The province’s head coach Eric Elwood will announce his starting line-up and replacements on Friday afternoon.

CONNACHT Squad – Backs (11): Paul O’Donohoe, Frank Murphy, Matthew Jarvis, Miah Nikora, Niall O’Connor, Tiernan O’Halloran, Brian Tuohy, Henry Fa’afili, Eoin Griffin, Fetu’u Vainikolo, Gavin Duffy.

Forwards (14): Rodney Ah You, Ronan Loughney, Dylan Rogers, Brett Wilkinson, Adrian Flavin, Ethienne Reynecke, Michael Swift, David Gannon, Mike McCarthy, George Naoupu, John Muldoon, Johnny O’Connor, Ray Ofisa, Thomas Anderson.