Jump to main content


O’Leary Included In Munster ‘A’ Squad

O’Leary Included In Munster ‘A’ Squad

Fit-again scrum half Tomas O’Leary is set to return to provincial action on Friday having been named in the province’s ‘A’ squad for their clash with Connacht ‘A’ in Galway (kick-off 2pm).

Tomas O’Leary, who had been out of action since August with a lower back injury, made his comeback last weekend for Dolphin in their Ulster Bank League derby match against Cork Constitution at Musgrave Park.

Ireland Rugby World Cup squad member Damien Varley is also included as is Munster’s latest signing Will Chambers, who has joined the province from Super 15 champions Queensland Reds on a short term contract.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Keen to get his first game for Munster under his belt, Chambers said: “Obviously I’m pretty excited to be over here. It’s a very prestigious team and when I was presented with the opportunity to come over I took it with both hands.

“Most footy players dream of playing with a side like Munster, pulling on that red jersey and it’s something I’m looking forward to.

“To actually be over here now and getting in and mingling and meeting all the boys is something I’m very excited about.”

MUNSTER ‘A’ Squad (v Connacht ‘A’) – Backs (10): Tomas O’Leary, Duncan Williams, Scott Deasy, Declan Cusack, Simon Zebo, JJ Hanrahan, Tom Gleeson, Will Chambers, Luke O’Dea, Sean Scanlon.

Forwards (13): Marcus Horan, BJ Botha, John Ryan, Dave Kilcoyne, Damien Varley, Denis Fogarty, Ian Nagle, Philip Donnellan, Dave Foley, David O’Callaghan, Brian O’Hara, Tommy O’Donnell, James Coughlan.