Jump to main content


Three Changes For Connacht

Three Changes For Connacht

Connacht head coach Eric Elwood has announced his team and replacements to take on Leinster in Saturday’s RaboDirect PRO12 derby at the RDS (kick-off 5pm).

There are just three changes to the starting line-up from last weekend’s bonus point loss to the Ospreys at the Liberty Stadium.

Mark McCrea replaces the injured Tiernan O’Halloran on the right wing. McCrea, who previously played for Ulster, has featured in three of Connacht’s five league matches so far, scoring a decisive try against the Scarlets last month.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ethienne Reynecke makes way for Adrian Flavin in the front row. Flavin joined Connacht in 2006 from London Irish and has earned 108 caps for the province as well as representing Ireland at Under-19, Under-21 and ‘A’ levels.

The final change sees Ray Ofisa come back in at number 8. With 94 caps for Connacht, the Samoan back rower has been a near permanent fixture in the westerners’ team since joining in 2007.

Meanwhile, the Connacht Rugby Supporters Club are running a bus from Galway to the RDS for the 5pm kick-off on Saturday. The bus will leave Busker Brownes at 12.30pm and return 30 minutes after the final whistle.

The package costs €;45 (€;30 match ticket). To book your place, please email mfallon@cbirfu.com or call the Connacht Branch Office on tel: (091) 561568.

CONNACHT (v Leinster): Gavin Duffy (capt); Mark McCrea, Eoin Griffin, Henry Fa’afili, Brian Tuohy; Niall O’Connor, Frank Murphy; Brett Wilkinson, Adrian Flavin, Dylan Rogers, Michael Swift, Mike McCarthy, John Muldoon, Johnny O’Connor, Ray Ofisa.

Replacements: Ethienne Reynecke, Ronan Loughney, Rodney Ah You, David Gannon, Thomas Anderson, Paul O’Donohoe, Matthew Jarvis, David McSharry.