Jump to main content


Munster Confirm Squad For Edinburgh Game

Munster Confirm Squad For Edinburgh Game

Three players who missed last weekend’s win in Cardiff – forwards BJ Botha, Marcus Horan and Ian Nagle – have been named in Munster’s preliminary 29-man squad for Friday’s Murrayfield clash with Edinburgh (kick-off 7.30pm).

Also added to the mix are Simon Zebo, Paddy Butler and David O’Callaghan, while James Coughlan and stand-in captain Peter O’Mahony, who both retired injured during the course of the Cardiff game, are fit for selection.

BJ Botha is back in contention after suffering a calf strain in training in the run up to last week’s trip to the Welsh capital, while fellow prop Marcus Horan missed out due to a bout of illness.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Young lock Ian Nagle has been out of action since injurying his shoulder in a pre-season game against London Irish in late August.

Meanwhile, Nagle’s second row colleague Mick O’Driscoll praised the belief and tenacity shown by the men in red following their fourth straight league win last Friday – an 18-13 verdict over the Blues.

“We’ve being coming to Cardiff and getting beaten. I mean we won tonight, it was close, and we won here last year. But before that I think it was 2005 the last time we won in Cardiff?,” he told reporters.

“We knew we wouldn’t be coming here and scoring four tries. We knew we had to make the most of whatever possession they’d give us.

“They’re a good side, they didn’t give us a lot of ball, and of course having Keats (Ian Keatley) there to kick the penalties obviously was massive.”

He added: “Then there was our defence. I think each player made 15 to 20 tackles. That’s phenomenal. It’s hard work. But that’s what we are, hard workers, and that’s what got us the result tonight.

“Okay, we probably copped a bit of luck at the end with that forward pass but maybe that was down to pressure?

“But look, this is never an easy place to come to get a result. We set a target for ourselves and I’d have to be very happy with our efforts.”

MUNSTER Squad (v Edinburgh) – Backs (11): Johne Murphy, Scott Deasy, Simon Zebo, Tom Gleeson, Danny Barnes, Lifeimi Mafi, Denis Hurley, Doug Howlett, Peter Stringer, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley.

Forwards (18): Marcus Horan, John Hayes, Wian du Preez, John Ryan, Stephen Archer, BJ Botha, Denis Fogarty, Mike Sherry, Billy Holland, Mick O’Driscoll, Ian Nagle, Dave Foley, David O’Callaghan, Peter O’Mahony, Niall Ronan, Tommy O’Donnell, Paddy Butler, James Coughlan.