Jump to main content


Munster Announce Squad To Face Cardiff

Munster Announce Squad To Face Cardiff

RaboDirect PRO12 leaders Munster travel to Cardiff City Stadium on Friday evening for a round 4 clash with a Blues side that lost to Ulster last time out.

Training in their respective centres today, the Munster squad will assemble in Cork tomorrow for their final session before departing from Shannon Airport on Thursday afternoon.

Back fit after nursing their respective injuries, both Danny Barnes (hand) and Ian Nagle (shoulder) have been included in the province’s extended panel.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Their 23-man matchday squad will be named on Thursday afternoon, with forwards coach Anthony Foley expecting a tough test from Cardiff.

“It’s still early days. Cardiff’s a tough place to go. They’re a very good club, a very good side,” he said.

“We’ve always found it hard to go over there and win. Last year was something of an unusual event in that we won over there. We’re three from three. We’ll go over there, do our best and see where it leaves us.”

MUNSTER Squad (v Cardiff Blues) – Backs (11): Johne Murphy, Scott Deasy, Doug Howlett, Simon Zebo, Tom Gleeson, Danny Barnes, Lifeimi Mafi, Denis Hurley, Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams, Peter Stringer.

Forwards (15): Marcus Horan, Stephen Archer, BJ Botha, Wian du Preez, John Hayes, Denis Fogarty, Mike Sherry, Dave Foley, Ian Nagle, Mick O’Driscoll, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan, Tommy O’Donnell.