Jump to main content


Fitzgerald Slots In At Centre For Leinster

Fitzgerald Slots In At Centre For Leinster

The Leinster team to face the Glasgow Warriors in Saturday evening’s RaboDirect PRO12 encounter in the RDS (kick-off 6pm) has been named.

Luke Fitzgerald takes his place at inside centre alongside Eoin O’Malley who moves to outside centre for the visit of Glasgow.

Fionn Carr and Ian Madigan, who both touched down in the 31-10 victory over the Newport Gwent Dragons last weekend, continue in a back-line which also includes Isa Nacewa and Cillian Willis.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the pack, Leo Auva’a makes his first start for the province at number 8 after appearing twice off the bench so far this season. He joins Dominic Ryan and stand-in captain Rhys Ruddock in a strong-running back row.

Damian Browne has been named on the replacements bench alongside Leinster Academy back rower Jordi Murphy and new prop Nathan White, who could both be in line for their debut appearances.

Over 14,450 tickets have been sold for Saturday’s game which will see the usual ‘Family Day’ activities.

Tickets are still available online at www.leinsterrugby.ie, and from Spar (Donnybrook), the Leinster Rugby Store and Ticketmaster outlets nationwide. Tickets will also be on sale around the ground on match night.

LEINSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Isa Nacewa; Fionn Carr, Eoin O’Malley, Luke Fitzgerald, David Kearney; Ian Madigan, Cillian Willis; Heinke van der Merwe, Richardt Strauss, Jamie Hagan, Kevin McLaughlin, Devin Toner, Rhys Ruddock (capt), Dominic Ryan, Leo Auva’a.

Replacements: Aaron Dundon, Jack McGrath, Nathan White, Damian Browne, Jordi Murphy, John Cooney, Brendan Macken, Darren Hudson.