Jump to main content


Botha Named In Munster Squad

Botha Named In Munster Squad

Munster head coach Tony McGahan has selected a 26-man squad for the RaboDirect PRO12 match against Glasgow Warriors at Firhill Stadium on Friday (kick-off 7.30pm).

The Munster panel for their second league game includes South African prop BJ Botha, who has resumed training with the province this week.

He was forced out of the recent pre-season friendly against London Wasps with a calf injury. Originally the timeframe for a return to action was a month.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Although Botha is ahead of that schedule, the management will monitor his progress this week before deciding if he will be included for the trip to Scotland.

As well as being without their Rugby World Cup-tied players, Munster are currently missing the injured Darragh Hurley (Achillies tendon), Troy Smith (knee), David Wallace (knee), Felix Jones (foot), Peter Borlase (hip), Ian Nagle (shoulder) and Tomas O’Leary (back).

MUNSTER Squad (v Glasgow Warriors) – Backs (11): Johne Murphy, Doug Howlett, Denis Hurley, Simon Zebo, Tom Gleeson, Lifeimi Mafi, Danny Barnes, Scott Deasy, Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams, Peter Stringer.

Forwards (15): Marcus Horan, Wian du Preez, Damien Varley, Mike Sherry, Denis Fogarty, Stephen Archer, John Hayes, BJ Botha, Dave Foley, Mick O’Driscoll, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony, Tommy O’Donnell, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan.