Jump to main content


Munster Confirm Pre-Season Fixtures

Munster Confirm Pre-Season Fixtures

Munster will play Stade Rochelais, London Wasps and London Irish as part of their 2011/12 pre-season programme. Tickets will go on sale tomorrow (Thursday).

Munster will open their pre-season schedule of matches with a trip to La Rochelle to face Stade Rochelais at Stade Marcel-Deflandre on Friday, August 12 (kick-off 7pm).

Tony McGahan’s men will then entertain London Wasps at Musgrave Park in Cork on Friday, August 19 (kick-off 7pm). A week later, on Friday, August 26, they will face London Irish at Thomond Park (kick-off 7pm).

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Tickets will go on sale for both home games online here tomorrow from 2pm. They are priced as follows:

Cat A Stand – €;25
Cat B Stand – €;20
Adult Terrace – €;15
Child Terrace – €;5
Family Pack Terrace – €;30 (two adults and two kids)
Adult & Child Cat B Stand – €;2

Meanwhile, with Munster Academy players Conor Murray, Mike Sherry and Simon Zebo already confirmed as fully contracted players for next season, first year Academy hooker Sean Henry has also secured a development contract with the province.

The 22-year-old Henry will be joined by UCC prop John Ryan, who most recently impressed for the Munster Development side that played the Ireland Under-20s at Musgrave Park.

Other players involved that day included sub-Academy players James Cronin, Niall Scannell, Duncan Casey, Cathal O’Flaherty, Shane Buckley and Cian Bohane, and all now advance into the Munster Academy for the 2011/12 season.

Garryowen’sShane Buckley is currently involved with the Ireland U-20s along with fellow Academy player JJ Hanrahan as they prepare for the IRB Junior World Championship, which starts next week in Italy.

The Munster Academy players, under the tutelage of Academy manager Ian Sherwin, will return to training at the end of this month.


Third Year:

David O’Callaghan (UCC), back row
Brian O’Hara (UL Bohemians), number 7

Second Year:

Alan Cotter (Young Munster), prop
JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians), out-half/centre
Brian Hayes (Cork Constitution), second row
Corey Hircock (Garryowen), centre
David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians), rrop
Luke O’Dea (Shannon), full-back
Ronan O’Mahony (Garryowen), full-back/winger
Gareth Quinn McDonogh (Shannon), out-half
Cathal Sheridan (UL Bohemians), scrum half

First Year:

Cian Bohane (Dolphin), centre/winger
Shane Buckley (Garryowen), number 6
Duncan Casey (Shannon), hooker
James Cronin (Highfield), prop
Cathal O’Flaherty (Cork Constitution), second row/back row
Niall Scannell (Dolphin), hooker

Outgoing Players:

Kieran Essex and Paul Rowley – completed Academy programme
Pa O’Regan – for now opting to pursue other career options