Jump to main content


Munster Unchanged As Wallace Hits 200

Munster Unchanged As Wallace Hits 200

Back rower David Wallace will win his 200th cap as part of the unchanged Munster team selected for Saturday’s Magners League grand final against Leinster at Thomond Park (kick-off 5.05pm).

Munster’s matchday 23 shows just one change from the squad that saw off Ospreys in the semi-final, with Johne Murphy named on the bench in place of Simon Zebo.

Otherwise it is as you were for Tony McGahan’s side as they chase a title they last captured in 2009.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

David Wallace, playing in his 17th game of the season, will become just the sixth Munster player to reach the 200th cap mark, having made his debut against Connacht in August 1997 alongside Ronan O’Gara.

Previewing this weekend’s league decider, Wallace said: “I would take the favourites’ tag totally out of this game. It’s a unique game.

“Basically, the team who plays as well as they can, makes the least amount of mistakes and shows up with the best attitude is going to win it. Everything else goes out the window, except for what happens in those 80 minutes.

“Leinster have a fantastic back row but they have ball carriers in the front row too. It is very much part of their strength at the moment.

“They will go into this game trying to protect their reputation as Heineken Cup champions and going for the double. From an Irish point of view, the management team must be licking their lips.

“They probably couldn’t have planned it any better. There are (Rugby World Cup) places up for grabs, but there are every time you throw on a jersey.

“In that situation, when you’re out there you’re in a trial game. You kind of forget about what happened before and focus on doing your best in that. That is all you can do.”

MUNSTER (v Leinster): Felix Jones; Doug Howlett, Danny Barnes, Lifeimi Mafi, Keith Earls; Ronan O’Gara, Conor Murray; Marcus Horan, Damien Varley, John Hayes, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell (capt), Donnacha Ryan, David Wallace, James Coughlan.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, Wian du Preez, Stephen Archer, Denis Leamy, Niall Ronan, Peter Stringer, Paul Warwick, Johne Murphy.

Related Links –

Wallace: We’re Fully Focused On Title Shot