Jump to main content


Munster Select Squad For Leinster Clash

Munster Select Squad For Leinster Clash

Munster head coach Tony McGahan has named a 27-man squad for Saturday’s Magners League encounter with Leinster at Thomond Park (kick-off 7.30pm).

The selected squad includes all 23 players who were on duty for the 16-15 victory over the Cardiff Blues last Friday, plus Paul Warwick, who has returned from Australia, John Hayes, Donncha O’Callaghan and David Wallace.

Tony McGahan met with press today in UL and gave his thoughts on Saturday’s derby game, saying: “We can’t afford to lose any game and we’ve worked so hard with last weekend’s win over Cardiff away from home.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“Now we’re only focused on next Saturday and the 80 minutes ahead of us.

“The Leinster game represents so many things for us with regards the competition and the momentum we want to build going forward and I’m sure it would be the same for them.”

He added: “There’s no secret Leinster like to play a lot of attacking ball, putting pressure on the opposition side, so we need to be really aware of that.

“And we need to make sure that we have a balanced approach, whether it is to kick or run that ball.

“But more than anything we need to be aggressive and physical, and at the same time relaxed and focused on the things we have to do, making clear decisions out there.”

MUNSTER Squad (v Leinster) – Backs (11): Felix Jones, Doug Howlett, Paul Warwick, Sam Tuitupou, Johne Murphy, Lifeimi Mafi, Keith Earls, Declan Cusack, Ronan O’Gara, Peter Stringer, Conor Murray.

Forwards (16): Wian du Preez, Damien Varley, Mike Sherry, John Hayes, Marcus Horan, Stephen Archer, Tony Buckley, Paul O’Connell (capt), Donncha O’Callaghan, Mick O’Driscoll, James Coughlan, Niall Ronan, David Wallace, Peter O’Mahony, Donnacha Ryan, Denis Leamy.