Jump to main content


Six Changes For Ulster

Six Changes For Ulster

Head coach Brian McLaughlin has continued his rotation policy, bringing in six new faces for Ulster’s Magners League encounter with Glasgow Warriors at Firhill Stadium on Friday (kick-off 8.05pm).

Ireland internationals Tom Court and Paddy Wallace join Scotland’s Simon Danielli in the starting team as they all return from Six Nations duty.

Hooker Rory Best, who started against England last weekend, takes his place on the Ulster bench, but Andrew Trimble is unavailable after picking up a slight quad injury against England.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Paul Marshall is included at scrum half after his cameo against the Newport Gwent Dragons and Ruan Pienaar moves to out-half as a result. Conor Gaston will make his second appearance on the wing after impressing on his debut last time out.

The returning Danielli will start at full-back, taking over from Adam D’Arcy, and Wallace will join Nevin Spence at centre with youngster Luke Marshall set to miss the rest of the season.

Andi Kyriacou and Declan Fitzpatrick remain in the front row and are joined by Court. Dan Tuohy has been promoted from the replacements to partner stand-in captain Johann Muller in the second row.

The back row is reshuffled again with Pedrie Wannenburg starting at number 8, Robbie Diack moving to blindside flanker and Chris Henry at openside flanker.

The return of Ulster’s international players is a timely boost as every point will count in the Magners League and the Heineken Cup quarter-final against Northampton Saints is just over two weeks’ away.

Speaking ahead of the game in Glasgow, Ulster head coach Brian McLaughlin said: “If we want to make that semi-final spot in the Magners League then every game is a cup final. We have to perform in every game.”

ULSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Simon Danielli; Conor Gaston, Nevin Spence, Paddy Wallace, Craig Gilroy; Ruan Pienaar, Paul Marshall; Tom Court, Andi Kyriacou, Declan Fitzpatrick, Johann Muller (capt), Dan Tuohy, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Pedrie Wannenburg.

Replacements: Rory Best, Paddy McAllister, Bryan Young, Tim Barker, Willie Faloon, Ian Whitten, Tommy Seymour, Adam D’Arcy.