Jump to main content


Ulster Squad Named For Glasgow Game

Ulster Squad Named For Glasgow Game

Ulster head coach Brian McLaughlin has brought his Ireland contingent straight back into the squad for Friday’s Magners League clash with Glasgow Warriors at Firhill Stadium (kick-off 8.05pm).

Rory Best, Andrew Trimble, Paddy Wallace and Tom Court all return to the province’s 36-man squad following the completion of the Six Nations.

Trimble is nursing a quad injury from Ireland’s victory over England, but has yet to be ruled out of contention. Simon Danielli is also back having featured for Scotland in their win over Italy last Saturday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Dungannon’s 20-year-old winger Conor Gaston, who made his senior bow for Ulster in last Friday’s 25-23 win over the Dragons, is in contention for a second appearance.

The dramatic defeat of the Dragons was an important result for Ulster who now sit fourth in the Magners League table.

Brian McLaughlin’s men have now recorded victories in their last four outings but must continue this run to remain in the hunt for a play-off spot.

Speaking after the Dragons game, McLaughlin said: “We were not happy with the way we played and we certainly gave away too many soft tries to them. It was below par and there is no doubt that we got out of jail.

“We know there is work to do. If you look back at the games against Cardiff and Aironi and then this one (against the Dragons), we have to start to get some consistency into our game.

“If we want to go on and win anything in the Magners League then we have to go on and make sure we are playing for the full game.”

ULSTER Squad (v Glasgow Warriors) – Backs (17): Ruan Pienaar, Paul Marshall, Paddy Jackson, Niall O’Connor, Ian Whitten, Nevin Spence, Paddy Wallace, Darren Cave, Mark McCrea, Andrew Trimble, Simon Danielli, Tommy Seymour, Craig Gilroy, Conor Gaston, David McIlwaine, Jamie Smith, Adam D’Arcy.

Forwards (19): Jerry Cronin, Declan Fitzpatrick, Tom Court, Adam Macklin, Paddy McAllister, Bryan Young, Rory Best, Nigel Brady, Andi Kyriacou, Ryan Caldwell, Neil McComb, Dan Tuohy, Johann Muller, Tim Barker, Pedrie Wannenburg, Thomas Anderson, Willie Faloon, Chris Henry, Robbie Diack.