Jump to main content


Diack Captains Ulster Ravens

Diack Captains Ulster Ravens

Ulster Ravens head coach Gary Longwell has named Robbie Diack as captain for the province’s final British & Irish Cup Pool C match against Moseley at Ravenhill on Wednesday (kick-off 2pm).

Adam Macklin and Darren Cave are both set to feature for Ulster Ravens after long spells on the sidelines due to injury.

Powerful prop Macklin broke his ankle in September during his last outing with the Ravens, while the Ireland-capped Cave has been out since November with a hamstring injury.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Ravens squad is made up of a mixture of contracted players, Academy members and promising club players.

The selected team includes lock Neil McComb and Connacht-bound duo Mark McCrea and Niall O’Connor. Tommy Seymour, Jamie Smith and Conor Gaston make up an exciting back-three.

Moseley are currently second from bottom in the English Championship, but Ravens boss Gary Longwell will not be taking the opposition lightly.

“It’s a good opportunity for the young players to come up against quality opposition like Moseley,” he said.

“This season we’ve been represented by a mixture of Academy players and young members of the senior squad and it’s been a steep learning curve.”

The Ravens have won one of their four cup games this season, and lie fifth in the Pool C table ahead of the final round of matches.

Tickets for Wednesday’s clash with Moseley are priced at £15 (adult Stand), £12 (adult Promenade/Terrace) and £8 (children). Ulster Rugby Season Ticket holders can gain entry as part of their package.

ULSTER RAVENS (v Moseley): Jamie Smith; Tommy Seymour, Darren Cave, Mark McCrea, Conor Gaston; Niall O’Connor, Michael Heaney; Conor Carey, John Burns, Adam Macklin, David Huston, Neil McComb, David Bradford, David McGuigan, Robbie Diack (capt).

Replacements: Jonny Murphy, Kyle McCall, Alan Whitten, Paul Pritchard, Conor Spence, Michael Allen, David McIlwaine.