Jump to main content


Plenty Of Changes For Munster

Plenty Of Changes For Munster

With international commitments and ten players unavailable through injury, Munster have named a much-changed team for Sunday’s Magners League match against Benetton Treviso at Stadio Comunale di Monigo (kick-off 2pm local time/1pm Irish time).

Further disruption to their plans came on Thursday night when Peter Stringer was called up to the Ireland squad.

That means that Duncan Williams will partner Paul Warwick at half-back for Munster and Academy player Cathal Sheridan provides back-up on the replacements bench.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Sheridan plays his club rugby with UL Bohemians and last weekend scored a crucial try in their Ulster Bank League win over Lansdowne in Dublin.

Elsewhere, there is a new look to the Munster formation with Simon Zebo on the left wing and Tom Gleeson at centre, while up front the twin totems of Ian Nagle and Dave Foley start in the second row just behind Darragh Hurley and Stephen Archer.

Doug Howlett will take on the captaincy duties, in the absence of Paul O’Connell and Denis Leamy. Howlett has just committed to Munster for next season and is hoping the province can make a winning return to Magners League action.

“I think it’s a very exciting line-up. There are a load of new boys there who have huge potential and now it’s their chance to shine, to put their hands up,” he said.

“I’m certainly looking forward to the game. It’s been a while now since we’ve played, so it’ll be good to get out there again and with the changes we have with the international boys away, it makes it that bit more exciting, a bit more challenging and that’s a good thing.

“Treviso will be as tough a side as we’ve faced. They’ve a really good record at home, won I think five of their games there, so we won’t get anything easy.

“But we’re going there with a good squad, a good mix and I’d be confident we’ll give a good account of ourselves.”

MUNSTER (v Benetton Treviso): Scott Deasy; Doug Howlett, Tom Gleeson, Lifeimi Mafi, Simon Zebo; Paul Warwick, Duncan Williams; Darragh Hurley, Damien Varley, Stephen Archer, Ian Nagle, Dave Foley, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, James Coughlan.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, Wian du Preez, Peter Borlase, Mick O’Driscoll, Donnacha Ryan, Cathal Sheridan, Sam Tuitupou, Denis Hurley.