Jump to main content


McLaughlin Leads Leinster Against Currie

McLaughlin Leads Leinster Against Currie

The Leinster team to face Currie in Sunday’s British & Irish Cup Pool A clash at Donnybrook (kick-off 2pm) has been named.

Ireland international Kevin McLaughlin leads a strong Leinster team that will be looking to build on last weekend’s 38-23 bonus point victory over Worcester Warriors at the same venue.

Eoin Sheriff, who was a try-scoring replacement last Sunday afternoon, joins Argentina’s Mariano Galarza in the second row, with Jack McGrath continuing in the front row alongside hooker Aaron Dundon and Simon Shawe.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Paul O’Donohoe partners Ian McKinley at half-back as Colin McEntee’s men bid to keep pace with Pool A leaders Cornish Pirates.

Also coming into the side is Eoin O’Malley, who scored against Saracens in the Heineken Cup last time out. He forms an exciting centre partnership with Brendan Macken.

Meanwhile, Andrew Conway’s brace of tries against Worcester took him to second place in the top try scorers’ list in this season’s British & Irish Cup competition.

With four tries to his name, the 19-year-old winger lies a try behind Cornish Pirates’ Wesley Davies and one ahead of his provincial colleague Michael Keating.

* There will be free entrance for Leinster Season Ticket holders on Sunday upon presentation of this season’s membership card.

LEINSTER (v Currie): Niall Morris; Andrew Conway, Brendan Macken, Eoin O’Malley, David Kearney; Ian McKinley, Paul O’Donohoe; Jack McGrath, Aaron Dundon, Simon Shawe, Eoin Sheriff, Mariano Galarza, Kevin McLaughlin (capt), Jordi Murphy, Leo Auva’a.

Replacements: Tom Sexton, Stewart Maguire, Ed O’Donoghue, Ciaran Ruddock, John Cooney, Ian Madigan, Michael Keating.