Jump to main content


Leinster Team Chosen For Pirates Clash

Leinster Team Chosen For Pirates Clash

The Leinster team to face the Cornish Pirates in Sunday’s British & Irish Cup Pool A encounter at Mennaye Field (kick-off 2pm) has been named.

Stephen Keogh leads a team which combines a blend of youth and experience as the province aim to build on their victories in the opening two rounds of this season’s British & Irish Cup.

Keogh, a try scorer in the 25-16 win over Plymouth Albion at Greystones RFC last weekend, forms a back row partnership with Eoin Sheriff and Jordi Murphy.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Argentina international Mariano Galarza locks down with Ed O’Donoghue in the second row, with powerful prop Stewart Maguire starting in the front row alongside Jack McGrath.

Paul O’Donohoe forms a half-back partnership with Ian Madigan, and youngsters Brendan Macken and Noel Reid link up as Leinster’s starting centres.

LEINSTER (v Cornish Pirates): Niall Morris; Darren Hudson, Brendan Macken, Noel Reid, Andrew Conway; Ian Madigan, Paul O’Donohoe; Jack McGrath, Aaron Dundon, Stewart Maguire, Mariano Galarza, Ed O’Donoghue, Eoin Sheriff, Jordi Murphy, Stephen Keogh (capt).

Replacements: Tom Sexton, Simon Shawe, Mark Flanagan, Ben Marshall, John Cooney, Ian McKinley, Michael Keating.