Jump to main content


Ulster Name Extended Squad For Bath Trip

Ulster Name Extended Squad For Bath Trip

Five players have been added to the Ulster squad for this Saturday’s Heineken Cup Pool 4 clash with Bath at the Recreation Ground (kick-off 1.30pm).

With no fresh injuries from last weekend’s comeback win at Ravenhill, the 23 players who were on duty for Ulster in that game have been retained.

Jamie Smith and Robbie Diack, who were kept as cover for the round 3 tie due to a stomach bug in the squad, come back into contention for Saturday’s match.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Niall O’Connor and Declan Fitzpatrick are also pushing for selection, along with lock Ryan Caldwell who played for the Ulster Ravens in their British & Irish Cup defeat in Bedford last weekend.

Back rower Chris Henry sustained a knock and had to be replaced during the second half of the 22-18 victory over Bath, but has been passed fit for the away leg.

It is unlikely that head coach Brian McLaughlin will make many changes, with the second row and back row combinations coming under most scrutiny.

“Everyone fought tooth and nail for the pride of Ulster last week. And whoever is involved this weekend will be expected to do the same,” insisted McLaughlin.

“It was a determined effort from everyone and we knew we had to put on a big peformance in a huge game to get an even bigger game this weekend.

“That will be the mindset again. We want to have an even bigger game next up in Europe and to get that, we have to win in Bath this weekend.”

The Ulster team and replacements to face Steve Meehan’s side will be announced on Friday.

The Pool 4 picture currently looks like this – Biarritz Olympique, who suffered a shock defeat to Aironi last Saturday, lead the way on 11 points, with Ulster tucked behind them on nine and Bath on seven.

ULSTER Squad (v Bath) – Backs (12): Adam D’Arcy, David McIlwaine, Jamie Smith, Simon Danielli, Andrew Trimble, Paddy Wallace, Nevin Spence, Ian Whitten, Ian Humphreys, Niall O’Connor, Ruan Pienaar, Paul Marshall.

Forwards (16): Tom Court, Declan Fitzpatrick, Paddy McAllister, Bryan Young, BJ Botha, Nigel Brady, Andi Kyriacou, Tim Barker, Dan Tuohy, Johann Muller, Ryan Caldwell, Willie Faloon, Pedrie Wannenburg, Stephen Ferris, Chris Henry, Robbie Diack.