Jump to main content


Leinster Delay Sexton Decision

Leinster Delay Sexton Decision

The Leinster team to face Munster in Saturday’s Magners League clash at the Aviva Stadium (kick-off 7.30pm) has been named.

Leinster coach Joe Schmidt has made five confirmed changes in personnel to the team that lost to Edinburgh last weekend.

There may be a sixth as a decision on the availability of out-half Jonathan Sexton will be made closer to kick-off on Saturday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Sexton is yet to make his seasonal bow for Leinster, having sustained a quad muscle injury prior to the province’s recent home win over the Cardiff Blues.

If the Ireland international is not passed fit, Isa Nacewa, who kicked 11 points against Edinburgh, will retain the number 10 jersey alongside Isaac Boss.

The remainder of the back-line is unchanged as Gordon D’Arcy continues his centre partnership with Brian O’Driscoll, and Luke Fitzgerald, Shane Horgan and Rob Kearney form the back-three.

There are four changes to the pack, the most notable seeing Sean O’Brien and Jamie Heaslip return to the back row. Heaslip will captain the side.

Nathan Hines has been selected in the second row, replacing the injured Ed O’Donoghue, while Heinke van der Merwe makes way for Cian Healy in the front row.

Supporters are reminded to use public transport and to familiarise themselves with the colour-coded entrance and exit routes. There are full details of the coloured entrance and exit routes into the Aviva Stadium here.

There are just a few hundred tickets now remaining for Saturday’s game from Spar (Donnybrook) and the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook).

Ticketmaster ticket collections on the day will take place from the Ticketmaster van on Northumberland Road from 4pm.

LEINSTER (v Munster): Rob Kearney; Shane Horgan, Brian O’Driscoll, Gordon D’Arcy, Luke Fitzgerald; Jonathan Sexton/Isa Nacewa, Isaac Boss; Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss, Mike Ross, Nathan Hines, Devin Toner, Dominic Ryan, Sean O’Brien, Jamie Heaslip (capt).

Replacements: Jason Harris-Wright, Heinke van der Merwe, Simon Shawe, Mariano Galarza, Rhys Ruddock, Eoin Reddan, Isa Nacewa/Ian Madigan, Fergus McFadden.