Jump to main content


Connacht Unchanged For Ulster Game

Connacht Unchanged For Ulster Game

Connacht coach Eric Elwood has named an unchanged team for Saturday’s Magners League derby clash with Ulster at the Sportsground (kick-off 7.30pm).

With injuries clearing, the Connacht team remains unchanged from the side that beat Glasgow Warriors 19-17 last weekend.

Gavin Duffy (back), stand-in captain Frank Murphy (foot), Fionn Carr (foot) and Jamie Hagan (back) have overcome their respective knocks to be named in the starting line-up.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There is one change to the replacements bench, as recent signing Darragh Fanning comes in for Ireland Under-20 international Tiernan O’Halloran.

Looking forward to the much-anticipated interprovincial tie, hooker Sean Cronin said: “I’m firmly focused on getting Connacht as far up the Magners League table as possible. I’m thinking about nothing else.

“Other stuff (international honours) comes off that if you are performing well for your province, so it will take care of itself.

“Improving our away results was one of the things we said we would do at the start of the season, so in that regard last weekend’s win in Glasgow was another step in the right direction.

“This game on Saturday gives us the chance to break the run of losses against Ulster. It’s a big game for us and there is a lot at stake.”

Meanwhile, Iarnród Eireann have announce that special train arrangements will be in place to cater for rugby supporters who wish to travel from Athlone, Ballinasloe, and Athenry to Galway for the Connacht v Ulster clash on Saturday.

Passengers will be able to avail of regular trains departing Athlone at 4.04pm, 5.04pm and 6.02pm, all of which will arrive at Ceannt Station in time for the game.

A return train will depart Galway at 10.15pm, returning to Athlone and serving Athenry, Attymon, Woodlawn and Ballinasloe.

The return fare, which should be purchased on the day from Station Ticket Offices, is an attractive €;10.

CONNACHT (v Ulster): Gavin Duffy; Troy Nathan, Niva Ta’auso, Keith Matthews, Fionn Carr; Ian Keatley, Frank Murphy (capt); Brett Wilkinson, Sean Cronin, Jamie Hagan, Michael Swift, Bernie Upton, Michael McCarthy, Ray Ofisa, Mike McComish.

Replacements: Adrian Flavin, Ronan Loughney, Rob Sweeney, Andrew Browne, Shane Conneely, Cillian Willis, Miah Nikora, Darragh Fanning.

Related Links –

Connacht v Ulster Match Tickets