Jump to main content


Ireland Trio Added To Leinster Squad

Ireland Trio Added To Leinster Squad

The Leinster squad to face Glasgow Warriors in Friday night’s Magners League encounter at Firhill Stadium (kick-off 7.05pm) has been named.

Ireland trio John Fogarty, Jamie Heaslip and Shane Horgan have been named in an enlarged 24-man panel with a team announcement now expected on Thursday afternoon for the trip to Scotland which marks Leinster’s 300th game of the professional era.

Recent signings Isaac Boss, Mariano Galarza, Ed O’Donoghue and Heinke van der Merwe have all been included by new coach Joe Schmidt, along with senior newcomers Simon Shawe and Eamonn Sheridan. 

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Fit-again duo Luke Fitzgerald and Sean O’Brien are also poised to make a welcome return to competitive rugby.

Meanwhile, Leinster have confirmed the arrival of tighthead prop Ben Prescott who has joined the province from Nottingham until the end of the season. He has also been named in the squad to face Glasgow.

The 32-year-old Irish-qualified front rower, who weighs 115kg and stands at 1.83m, was born in Libya, and was named in the the English National Division 1 Team of Year last season. He previously played for Glasgow and Rotherham.

Leinster team manager Guy Easterby commented: “We are pleased to complete a deal for Ben and he will add further competition to the pack, especially in light of the unfortunate long term injury to Stan Wright.

“Ben trained with the squad this week and we are confident that his experience and ability will be a welcome addition to the panel for the remainder of the season.”

LEINSTER Squad (v Glasgow Warriors) – Backs (10): Isaac Boss, Luke Fitzgerald, Shane Horgan, Ian Madigan, Fergus McFadden, Niall Morris, Isa Nacewa, Paul O’Donohoe, Eoin O’Malley, Eamonn Sheridan.

Forwards (14): John Fogarty, Mariano Galarza, Jamie Heaslip, Nathan Hines, Stephen Keogh, Jack McGrath, Sean O’Brien, Ed O’Donoghue, Ben Prescott, Mike Ross, Dominic Ryan, Simon Shawe, Richardt Strauss, Heinke van der Merwe.