Jump to main content


Fit-Again Trio Included In Munster Squad

Fit-Again Trio Included In Munster Squad

Denis Leamy, Donnacha Ryan and Ian Dowling have been named in the Munster squad for their pre-season friendly against Leicester Tigers at Musgrave Park (kick-off 7pm).

Recent signings Wian du Preez and Sam Tuitupou have also been included in Munster’s 26-man panel for the Cork tie.

Denis Leamy has been out of action since undergoing a knee operation in the aftermath of his impressive display against Perpignan last December, while his forward colleague Donnacha Ryan has been sidelined since February, following a shoulder operation.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Winger Ian Dowling, meanwhile, missed the final few games of last season with a knee injury.

All three players are in La Manga, coming to the end of a week long training camp which, according to head coach Tony McGahan, has proved hugely beneficial.

“In terms of preparation, the facility here in La Manga has been excellent and we’ve managed to get in quality core rugby work along with valuable organisational matters,” he said.

In naming his squad for Friday’s friendly, McGahan added: “Leicester Tigers on Friday and Gloucester next week provides us with the ideal opponents ahead of the competitive start to the season.

“The game against Leicester on Friday will see the return to action of players such as Donnacha Ryan, Denis Leamy and Ian Dowling who missed large parts of last season through injury.

“We would also expect to see newcomers Sam Tuitupou and Wian du Preez continue their integration into the squad, while the opportunity will also arise to expose some of the young talent coming through to top class opposition.”

That young talent that McGahan mentions includes among others, Ian Nagle, Dave Foley, Dave Ryan, Mike Sherry and Peter O’Mahony, who impressed in the British & Irish Cup campaign last season, Ireland Under-20 Junior World Championship players Paddy Butler and Simon Zebo and Munster Academy newcomer Corey Hircock, who recently arrived from Bedford.

Tickets for the Munster v Leicester game are available here.

MUNSTER Squad (v Leicester Tigers): Backs (11) – Denis Hurley, Felix Jones, Ian Dowling, Danny Barnes, Simon Zebo, Scott Deasy, Sam Tuitupou, Corey Hircock, Paul Warwick, Duncan Williams, Conor Murray.

Forwards (15) – Wian du Preez, Dave Ryan, Stephen Archer, Darragh Hurley, Mike Sherry, Denis Fogarty, Billy Holland, Dave Foley, Ian Nagle, Donnacha Ryan, Paddy Butler, Tommy O’Donnell, Peter O’Mahony, James Coughlan, Denis Leamy.