Jump to main content


Best And Wallace Ruled Out For Ulster

Best And Wallace Ruled Out For Ulster

Ireland internationals Rory Best and Paddy Wallace are notable absentees from the extended Ulster squad announced for Friday’s Magners League encounter with Glasgow Warriors at Firhill Stadium (kick-off 7.05pm).

Rory Best injured his calf in the 38-27 loss to the Ospreys on Tuesday, while a thigh injury has sidelined Paddy Wallace.

Justin Fitzpatrick, Matt McCullough, Cillian Willis, Adam Macklin, Bryn Cunningham, Timoci Nagusa and Mark McCrea were also not considered due to their respective injuries.  

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

But key flanker Stephen Ferris has been named in the province’s 27-man panel, despite doubts over his fitness.

Locked in a battle with Connacht in the lower reaches of the table, Ulster are hoping to end a run of four successive league defeats when they visit play-off chasers Glasgow on Friday.

Head coach Brian McLaughlin, who will confirm his matchday squad on Thursday afternoon, was pleased with parts of Tuesday’s game against the Ospreys.

“There were some good things about the performance and I think you also have to look at who we were playing. The Ospreys had eight British Lions out there, as well as two All Blacks,” he said. 

“They are a quality side and showed they are capable of coming back at you, which they did (tonight) 

“To be fair, from our point of view, we are exceptionally disappointed with the defeat, but on the back of previous performances we are pleased that we were playing a bit of rugby again tonight.

“We did turn over a little bit of ball, but at least we played and you certainly cannot fault their endeavour.”

ULSTER Squad (v Glasgow Warriors) – Backs (12): Jamie Smith, Paul Marshall, Simon Danielli, Darren Cave, Ian Whitten, Nevin Spence, Ian Humphreys, Niall O’Connor, Isaac Boss, Andrew Trimble, Jonny Shiells, Tommy Seymour.

Forwards (15): Declan Fitzpatrick, Bryan Young, BJ Botha, Nigel Brady, Andi Kyriacou, Ed O’Donoghue, Dan Tuohy, Ryan Caldwell, Chris Henry, Tom Court, Stephen Ferris, Robbie Diack, Thomas Anderson, David Pollock, Willie Faloon.