Jump to main content


Three Changes For Ulster

Three Changes For Ulster

Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin has confirmed the team and replacements for the province’s Magners League encounter with the Cardiff Blues at Ravenhill on Saturday (kick-off 7.30pm).

In the backs, Ireland international Isaac Boss returns at scrum half. He has overcome a hamstring injury to replace Paul Marshall who drops to the replacements bench.

The pack sees Declan Fitzpatrick come in for Tom Court, who is nursing a neck injury, at loosehead prop.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ed O’Donoghue will also start in the second row, with Dan Tuohy moving to the replacements.

For Ulster’s second league game against the Blues in the space of a week, number 8 Chris Henry will again captain the team.

Looking forward to the Ravenhill clash, Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin said: “Saturday night is going to be a really big game for us.

“It is one that we have got to turn up to, get our act together and play in front of our own fans at Ravenhill, to show them exactly what we are capable off.

“Training has gone very well this week, despite the weather. We have been fortunate to get the use of the indoor facility at the Sports Institute of Northern Ireland at Jordanstown, so our sessions have be very productive.

“We are really looking forward to the weekend because in the last two games we have not done ourselves justice – we have had disappointing displays against the Scarlets and Cardiff.

“We just want to get back to Ravenhill and play the way we can play, and play for our fans.”

To purchase tickets for the Ulster v Cardiff Blues game, click here or call the Ticket Line on tel: 028 90 493 222 (Option 2).

You can also visit the Ticket Office at Ravenhill (Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm), and tickets are also available from Ulster Rugby ticket outlets province-wide.

ULSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Jamie Smith; Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Paddy Wallace, Simon Danielli; Niall O’Connor, Isaac Boss; Declan Fitzpatrick, Rory Best, BJ Botha, Ed O’Donoghue, Ryan Caldwell, Stephen Ferris, David Pollock, Chris Henry (capt).

Replacements: Andi Kyriacou, Bryan Young, Dan Tuohy, Robbie Diack, Paul Marshall, Ian Whitten, Timoci Nagusa.