Jump to main content


Ulster Add To Squad For Cardiff Clash

Ulster Add To Squad For Cardiff Clash

Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin has named an extended 29-man squad to face the Cardiff Blues in Saturday’s Magners League return leg at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.30pm).

Commenting on Ulster’s second successive encounter with the Blues, Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin said: “On Saturday evening discipline will be key, we need to read the breakdown much quicker and make intelligent decisions as to how we defend or attack the opposition ball.

“We must keep the ball in hand and play some strong and smart running rugby.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“If we are going to come away with the win we really need, we’ll have to play out of our socks and be mentally prepared for a real fight.

“We were very disappointed with our performance last Friday, so it is great to have this early opportunity to play Cardiff again.

“We have had plenty to work on from last week and have been in Jordanstown for the past two days which has been great.

“We must make sure that we make our home advantage count, and get our Ravenhill support behind us to get as much out of this game as we possibly can.”

Paddy McAllister and Tommy Seymour are additions to the squad that was selected for the Cardiff away game last weekend, while Tom Court and Mark McCrea were not considered due to injury.

Other players currently sidelined by injury are: Clinton Schifcofske, Willie Faloon, Bryn Cunningham, Adam Macklin, Ian Porter, Cillian Willis, Matt McCullough and Justin Fitzpatrick.

 To purchase tickets for Ulster v Cardiff Blues tie, please click here, call the Ticket Line on tel: 028 90 493 222 (Option 2) or visit the Ticket Office at Ravenhill (Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm).

Tickets are also available from Ulster Rugby ticket outlets province-wide.

ULSTER Squad (v Cardiff Blues) – Backs (14): Jamie Smith, Paul Marshall, Simon Danielli, Darren Cave, Ian Whitten, Timoci Nagusa, Ian Humphreys, Niall O’Connor, Isaac Boss, Paddy Wallace, Andrew Trimble, Michael Heaney, Jonny Shiells, Tommy Seymour.

Forwards (15): Declan Fitzpatrick, Bryan Young, BJ Botha, Nigel Brady, Andi Kyriacou, Ed O’Donoghue, Dan Tuohy, Ryan Caldwell, Chris Henry, Paddy McAllister, Stephen Ferris, Robbie Diack, Thomas Anderson, David Pollock, Rory Best.