Jump to main content


Deasy Returns To Munster Cup Side

Deasy Returns To Munster Cup Side

Fresh from helping Munster overcome Edinburgh in the Magners League, young Corkman Scott Deasy has been named in the province’s side for Saturday’s British & Irish Cup Pool B encounter with Neath at the Gnoll (kick-off 2pm).

Munster play what will perhaps be the defining game in their British & Irish Cup Pool B campaign when they take on Neath at the Gnoll on Saturday.

Although retaining the core of the side that defeated Nottingham in Waterford last time out, this Munster side shows several changes with the pack being beefed up by the inclusion of New Zealander Nick Williams at number 8.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Cork Constitution clubmen Duncan Williams and Scott Deasy, who were unavailable last time out, have been included in the back-line, Deasy teaming up with Tom Gleeson in the centre.

Notably, talented out-half Jeremy Manning returns from injury to take his place on the bench.

It says it all about the competitiveness of this pool that despite three straight wins, Munster still have a lot to do if they are to make the semi-finals. And that ‘lot’ starts on Saturday at the famous Gnoll.

The Anthony Foley and Ian Costello-coached Munster outfit, unbeaten to date this season, take on a Neath side who, although languishing in fifth place in the table, could still qualify for the knock-out stages if they beat Munster and other results got their way.

Bristol (at home to Heriot’s) are in second place and trail Munster (13 points) by four points, but they can be expected to reap a full dividend and end the weekend with 14 points going into the final round of matches.

Third-placed Nottingham could also win with a bonus points, leaving them on 13 points, so at least Munster know exactly what they have to do in Wales.

Neath may have lost twice already in the inaugural British & Irish Cup, but they lead the Welsh Premiership currently and have won six of their last seven games.

MUNSTER (v Neath): Danny Riordan; Danny Barnes, Tom Gleeson, Scott Deasy, Ciaran O’Boyle; Declan Cusack, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Sean Henry, Stephen Archer, Dave Foley, Ian Nagle, Shane Hassett, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Nick Williams.

Replacements: Ger Slattery, Pa O’Regan, Neville Melbourne, Ed Kelly, Conor Murray, Jeremy Manning, Ronan O’Mahony.