Jump to main content


Much-Changed Munster To Face Edinburgh

Much-Changed Munster To Face Edinburgh

Munster return to competitive action for the first time in over six weeks when they take on Edinburgh in the Magners League at Musgrave Park on Friday (kick-off 8pm).

The Munster matchday squad named by Tony McGahan shows nine changes – two of them positional – from the one selected for the postponed game against Scarlets back on January 10.

Six of those changes are brought about by the non-availability of the Ireland internationals, with the positional changes seeing Paul Warwick switch from full-back to out-half, and Denis Hurley moving to the last line with Ian Dowling coming onto the left wing.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Last time around, South African prop Wian du Preez was in the front row in place of Marcus Horan, but the fit-again Horan takes his place in an otherwise unchanged front row.

Mick O’Driscoll will lead the side with recent RBS 6 Nations debutant Donnacha Ryan alongside him, while the one change in the back row sees James Coughlan come in for David Wallace at number 8 where he lined out in Munster’s last outing against Ulster at Ravenhill.

There is a decidedly youthful look to the Munster bench with Academy duo Mike Sherry and Scott Deasy included along with Development pair, Duncan Williams and Tommy O’Donnell.

Munster team manager Shaun Payne remains particularly wary of the challenge the Scots will present in Cork.

“Edinburgh travel with a very strong looking side and I think that indicates their intentions,” he said.

“It’s such a competitive league now, all the sides have improved over the years but perhaps particularly Edinburgh and Glasgow. Edinburgh are third in the table and I believe they’ll travel with a fair degree of confidence.

“But we’re looking forward to it. It’ll be good to get back playing again.

“We have one of the best surfaces to play on at Musgrave Park and full credit to ground staff there. It should be a cracking game.”

MUNSTER (v Edinburgh): Denis Hurley; Doug Howlett, Lifeimi Mafi, Jean de Villiers, Ian Dowling; Paul Warwick, Peter Stringer; Marcus Horan, Denis Fogarty, Tony Buckley, Donnacha Ryan, Mick O’Driscoll (capt), Alan Quinlan, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, Julien Brugnaut, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, Duncan Williams, Scott Deasy, Tom Gleeson.