Jump to main content


Leinster Select Squad For Twickenham Tie

Leinster Select Squad For Twickenham Tie

The Leinster squad to face London Irish in Saturday’s Heineken Cup Pool 6 showdown at Twickenham (kick-off 6pm) has been named.

Gordon D’Arcy, Isa Nacewa and Brian O’Driscoll – all try scorers in the bonus point 27-10 victory over Brive last weekend – have been named in an unchanged extended Leinster panel for the trip to London.

In all there are 15 Ireland internationals in the province’s squad, while Jonathan Sexton, who has accumulated 35 points in three games so far in this season’s Heineken Cup, and South African prop CJ van der Linde both made their comebacks from injury in the victory over the French side.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Skipper Leo Cullen’s next appearance in the Heineken Cup will be his 62nd in total and his 50th for his native province. The team is expected to be announced on Friday afternoon.

Meanwhile, in excess of 7,000 Leinster supporters are set to descend on London this weekend.

The Official Leinster Supporters Club (OLSC) has published an away guide, in association with Bank of Ireland, which can be downloaded here. It includes all of the latest accommodation and travel advice for those travelling to Twickenham.

Those interested in travelling to this weekend’s game can still book packages from Leinster Sports Travel here.

LEINSTER Squad (v London Irish) – Backs (11): Shaun Berne, Gordon D’Arcy, Girvan Dempsey, Shane Horgan, Rob Kearney, Simon Keogh, Isa Nacewa, Paul O’Donohoe, Brian O’Driscoll, Eoin Reddan, Jonathan Sexton.

Forwards (14): Leo Cullen, John Fogarty, Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip, Nathan Hines, Bernard Jackman, Shane Jennings, Ronan McCormack, Kevin McLaughlin, Sean O’Brien, Malcolm O’Kelly, Mike Ross, CJ van der Linde, Stan Wright.