Jump to main content


Munster Select Strong Squad For Treviso Trip

Munster Select Strong Squad For Treviso Trip

There were no surprises in the 26-man Munster squad named this morning for the Heineken Cup Pool 1 clash with Benetton Treviso at the Stadio Comunale di Monigo (kick-off 2.35pm local time/1.35pm Irish time).

All of the players who featured in the bonus point win in Perpignan before Christmas have been included in the Munster squad to face Benetton Treviso, with the exception of the injured Denis Leamy.

Marcus Horan took a full part in today’s training session at Musgrave Park but a lack of game-time means he misses out as does his injured front row colleague Jerry Flannery.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Munster are currently two points clear of Northampton Saints at the top of Pool 1.

Wins for both sides this weekend would set up a mouth-watering pool decider in the final round with Northampton visiting Thomond Park on Friday week (kick-off 8pm).

MUNSTER Squad (v Benetton Treviso) – Backs (10): Paul Warwick, Denis Hurley, Doug Howlett, Ian Dowling, Lifeimi Mafi, Keith Earls, Jean de Villiers, Peter Stringer, Tomas O’Leary, Ronan O’Gara.

Forwards (16): Wian du Preez, John Hayes, Tony Buckley, Julien Brugnaut, Stephen Archer, Damien Varley, Denis Fogarty, Mick O’Driscoll, Paul O’Connell, Donncha O’Callaghan, Donnacha Ryan, James Coughlan, Niall Ronan, Billy Holland, Alan Quinlan, David Wallace.