Jump to main content


Leinster Name Team As Game Gets Go-Ahead

Leinster Name Team As Game Gets Go-Ahead

The Leinster team to face the Glasgow Warriors in Friday night’s Magners League clash at the RDS (kick-off 8pm) has been named.

Following a pitch inspection at the RDS on Thursday morning, the Magners League game between Leinster and Glasgow Warriors will proceed as planned, however the playing surface and supporters’ areas will continue to be monitored.

The Health & Safety Officer Eamonn O’Boyle, from Eamonn O’Boyle & Associates, is drawing up a plan regarding proposed new access routes into the ground for supporters because of the recent adverse weather.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In team news, Brian O’Driscoll will partner Fergus McFadden in midfield in a back-line which sees Jonathan Sexton starting at out-half for his first time since sustaining a hand injury with Ireland in the GUINNESS Series win over South Africa.

Shane Jennings, back after his 12-week suspension, will captain the side for the visit of Glasgow and is included in a back row which features Kevin McLaughlin and Jamie Heaslip, with Nathan Hines partnering Devin Toner in the second row.

Close to 14,000 tickets have now been sold for Friday’s Magners League game against the Warriors. Tickets can be purchased from www.leinsterrugby.ie, Ticketmaster outlets nationwide and the Leinster Rugby Store and Spar shops in Donnybrook.

Ticketmaster vans will also selling tickets outside the RDS from 5pm on Friday evening. 

LEINSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Girvan Dempsey; Isa Nacewa, Brian O’Driscoll, Fergus McFadden, Rob Kearney; Jonathan Sexton, Eoin Reddan; Cian Healy, John Fogarty, Stan Wright, Devin Toner, Nathan Hines, Kevin McLaughlin, Shane Jennings (capt), Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: Bernard Jackman, Mike Ross, Malcolm O’Kelly, Stephen Keogh, Paul O’Donohoe, Shaun Berne, Simon Keogh.