Jump to main content


Connacht Select Side To Face Leinster

Connacht Select Side To Face Leinster

Team captain John Muldoon and hooker Sean Cronin, who were rested last week in accordance with IRFU stipulations on international players, will return to the Connacht side for Saturday’s Magners League showdown with Leinster at the Sportsground (kick-off 4pm).

Ireland duo John Muldoon and Sean Cronin are among several changes to the Connacht side to take on Leinster in the Magners League at the Sportsground this weekend.

Also returning to the westerners’ starting fifteen are Fionn Carr, Ian Keatley, Frank Murphy, Ronan Loughney, Robbie Morris, Mike McCarthy and Ray Ofisa.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Full-back Gavin Duffy and loosehead prop Brett Wilkinson are two notable absentees, with Duffy having injured his jaw in last week’s loss to Munster and Wilkinson nursing a hand injury.

Jamie Hagan has recovered from a finger injury to feature again in the Connacht front row, while Troy Nathan will line out at full-back in a reshuffled back-line.

The surface of the pitch at the Sportsground has been covered in a bid to beat the big freeze and ensure that Saturday’s eagerly awaited game goes ahead.

Supporters are advised to allow plenty of to get to the game which will kick off at 4pm.

CONNACHT (v Leinster): Troy Nathan; Liam Bibo, Niva Ta’auso, Keith Matthews, Fionn Carr; Ian Keatley, Frank Murphy; Ronan Loughney, Sean Cronin, Robbie Morris, Mike McCarthy, Bernie Upton, John Muldoon (capt), Ray Ofisa, George Naoupu.

Replacements: Adrian Flavin, Jamie Hagan, Michael Swift, Andrew Browne, Conor O’Loughlin, Miah Nikora, Aidan Wynne.