Jump to main content


Munster Select Squad For Ulster Tie

Munster Select Squad For Ulster Tie

The Munster management have named a 24-man squad for Saturday’s Magners League derby encounter with Ulster at Ravenhill (kick-off 6pm). Amongst the players being rested for the game are Paul O’Connell, Ronan O’Gara and David Wallace.

Doug Howlett, Lifeimi Mafi and Alan Quinlan, who all missed last weekend’s 35-3 win over Connacht, have been included in Munster’s squad for the trip to Ravenhill on Saturday.

Ian Dowling, Damien Varley, Paul Warwick and Jean de Villiers, the four try scorers from the Connacht game, have retained their places in the extended panel.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Warwick replaced the injured Felix Jones early on at Thomond Park last Saturday and went on to turn in a man-of-the-match display.

The talented Australian is eager to make it two wins out of two during the festive derby run, and improve Munster’s record at Ravenhill – they have won only once at the Belfast venue since 2004.

“We have been guilty of going into our shell, making a lot of errors and being probably intimidated up there at Ravenhill,” said Warwick.

“Hopefully, with the ball starting to roll now, we can quash that and really give it to Ulster next weekend.

“It was important to get the bonus point against Connacht. It keeps us in touch with the top of the league.

“We haven’t played well yet and we are only two points off Glasgow in top spot. That is a pretty good place to be, I think.

“If we can start building going forward, hopefully we will be there or thereabouts at the end of the season.”

Also included in Munster’s 24-man panel for the trip north are Scott Deasy, Duncan Williams and Mike Sherry. The trio made their Magners League debuts against Connacht.

MUNSTER Squad (v Ulster) – Backs (10): Scott Deasy, Denis Hurley, Doug Howlett, Ian Dowling, Tom Gleeson, Lifeimi Mafi, Jean de Villiers, Paul Warwick, Duncan Williams, Peter Stringer.

Forwards (14): Wian du Preez, Stephen Archer, Julien Brugnaut, Tony Buckley, Damien Varley, Denis Fogarty, Mike Sherry, Mick O’Driscoll, Donnacha Ryan, Alan Quinlan, Billy Holland, Niall Ronan, Tommy O’Donnell, Nick Williams.