Jump to main content


Ulster Gear Up For Glasgow Clash

Ulster Gear Up For Glasgow Clash

Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin has selected a 26-man squad for the province’s Magners League tussle with Glasgow Warriors at Ravenhill on Friday (kick-off 8pm).

Friday’s match will see fourth-placed Ulster go head-to-head with a Glasgow side that is currently a position above them in the Magners League table.

With the aim of retaining a top four play-off spot, this will be the first time the two teams have met this season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Three players who lined out in last Saturday’s Test between Ireland and South Africa will be unavailable for Ulster. Paddy Wallace and Stephen Ferris both sustained ankle ligament damage during the game, while Springbok prop BJ Botha also picked up a knock.

They have joined Rory Best, Bryn Cunningham, Matt McCullough, Mark McCrea and Robbie Diack on the province’s injury list.

But Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin can still pull together a strong line-up for Friday’s tie, with back rower Chris Henry returning from Ireland ‘A’ duty to captain his province.

McLaughlin said: “We had a team bonding day yesterday, which was a great success. The guys have been separated for five weeks, so it was important to get them back into focus for Glasgow as a team, as quickly as possible.

“The aim for training this week is to ensure we’re at our optimum level on Friday night, working as one unit, to produce a top level performance.

“You’ve always got to be wary of Glasgow. They are a big hitting side, and are playing very well this season. But if we play to our optimum level, we should be okay.”

McLaughlin will confirm his starting fifteen and replacements on Thursday afternoon.

Tickets for the game are available to purchase here or via the Ravenhill Ticket Office (Monday to Thursday, 9am-5pm, Friday, 9am-4pm), or by calling 02890 293 222 (Option 2) (Monday to Friday, 10am-12pm).

ULSTER Squad (v Glasgow Warriors)Backs (11): Clinton Schifcofske, Simon Danielli, Timoci Nagusa, Jonny Shiels, Niall O’Connor, Ian Humphreys, Darren Cave, Ian Whitten, Paul Marshall, Isaac Boss, Jamie Smith.

Forwards (15): Tom Court, Bryan Young, Declan Fitzpatrick, Adam Macklin, Justin Fitzpatrick, Andy Kyriacou, Nigel Brady, Ed O’Donoghue, Ryan Caldwell, Dan Tuohy, David Pollock, Willie Faloon, Chris Henry (capt), Tamaiti Horua, Thomas Anderson.