Jump to main content


Coughlan To Skipper Munster Side

Coughlan To Skipper Munster Side

James Coughlan will be on captaincy duty when Munster kick off their British & Irish Cup campaign against Coventry in Butts Stadium on Friday night (kick-off 7.45pm).

James Coughlan was particularly prominent in the Munster side’s most recent victory, against Ulster at Musgrave Park, and in welcoming the new competition, he said: “It’s a great opportunity for us all but particularly the younger players.

“There’s a real team feeling amongst this squad especially after the three interpro wins and we’ve our own coaches with Axel (Anthony Foley) and Ian Costello.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“Of course there’s a certain unknown factor about this fixture. We’ve seen the game between them (Coventry) and Bristol and we’re under no illusions about the task we face on Friday.

“But what the games we’ve played so far this season have done is give us confidence in our game-plan and our ability to carry that out that plan.

“So I think we’re in good shape really and certainly looking forward to it.”

The Munster side includes senior internationals Denis Hurley, Julien Brugnaut and Niall Ronan, with the latter coming in for the injured Tommy O’Donnell.

Ireland ‘A’ international Felix Jones, who starred for Shannon last weekend, is at full-back with the experienced Nick Williams on the bench.

Danny Riordan was a late withdrawal from the selected team, however, with Dolphin clubman Danny Barnes taking his place on the right wing.

Riordan injured a calf muscle in training earlier this week and was given as long as possible before being ruled out. Barnes’ fellow Ireland Under-20 international Andrew Burke has been added to the Munster bench.

MUNSTER (v Coventry): Felix Jones; Danny Barnes, Tom Gleeson, Scott Deasy, Denis Hurley; Declan Cusack, Duncan Williams; Julien Brugnaut, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer, Ian Nagle, Dave Foley, Billy Holland, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan (capt).

Replacements: Sean Henry, Dave Kilcoyne, Nick Williams, Peter O’Mahony, Paul Rowley, Andrew Burke, Simon Zebo.