Jump to main content


Ofisa And Morris Included In Connacht Squad

Ofisa And Morris Included In Connacht Squad

Flanker Ray Ofisa and prop Robbie Morris return to the Connacht squad for the Magners League trip to Firhill Arena on Friday to face Glasgow Warriors (kick-off 7.30pm).

Connacht coach Michael Bradley has selected a 22-man squad for the game in Firhill and the starting fifteen will be finalised on Thursday morning.

Previewing Friday’s return to Magners League action, Bradley said: “We’re looking forward to playing Glasgow in Firhill and backing up the win we had against Montpellier. The way we played that match and the quality of the scores we got, the lads are really buzzing and looking forward to Friday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“We understand it’s going to be difficult against Glasgow. They have had two poor results in the Heineken Cup, they’ll be looking to put that right and they’re going reasonably well in the Magners League, so that might be their focus for the remainder of the season.

“So it will be a big ask of us but we’ve always done well over there. We’ve been on the wrong side of very close matches in the recent history between us.

“If we do our work well like last week and take our chances like last week, we’ll go over there with a lot of confidence and we’ll be a difficult side to beat.”

Team captain John Muldoon added: “Everyone’s in good form. It’s much easier coming in on a Monday morning, starting off the week with a win under your belt.

“Coming back off two wins in Europe is pleasing, more so the manner in which we won against Montpellier last Friday. It was a very satisfying result.

“Glasgow over there is a different task, it’s going to be a tough game, but it’s not beyond us.

“Hopefully with the confidence gained from the Montpellier result, Friday’s game will be an enjoyable one and one that we’ll win.”

CONNACHT Squad (v Glasgow Warriors) – Backs (10): Fionn Carr, Gavin Duffy, Ian Keatley, Frank Murphy, Tiernan O’Halloran, Conor O’Loughlin, Keith Matthews, Troy Nathan, Miah Nikora, Niva Ta’auso.

Forwards (12): Andrew Browne, Sean Cronin, Adrian Flavin, Jamie Hagan, Michael McCarthy, Robbie Morris, John Muldoon, Johnny O’Connor, Ray Ofisa, Michael Swift, Bernie Upton, Brett Wilkinson.