Jump to main content


Ulster Unchanged For Edinburgh Encounter

Ulster Unchanged For Edinburgh Encounter

Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin has kept faith with the team that saw off Bath last weekend, selecting an unchanged starting line-up for Saturday’s Heineken Cup Pool 4 clash with Edinburgh at Murrayfield (kick-off 3.45pm).

Head coach Brian McLaughlin has opted to make one change to the province’s replacements bench, and it sees fit-again lock Dan Tuohy return in place of Neil McComb.

Commenting on Ulster’s first away trip of this season’s Heineken Cup, McLaughlin said: “We have shown we can win away from home in the Magners League and now it’s time for a Heineken Cup away win.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“Edinburgh will be up for the challenge at home and we will have to step it up another level again.

“They know their Heineken Cup hopes will be severely hurt if they lose their second game, so they will be going out to stop a run of three straight defeats when they face us.

“We know they are going to come at us hard and we are under no illusions about the massive task ahead of us.

“If we play to the best of our capability it is a game we are capable of winning, and after the win against Bath, we cannot afford to underachieve at Murrayfield.”

He added: “We must play the game in the right areas as we know all too well the kicking abilities of Chris Paterson and also Phil Godman, who can be dangerous with his drop goal attempts.

“Everyone in the Ulster camp is passionate about what we’re trying to achieve, and I guess the players are thriving off that enthusiasm.

“The coaches have given the boys the confidence to play the way they want to play, which is with a good style of rugby. We

“We’re working hard and now it’s all starting to come together.”

ULSTER (v Edinburgh): Clinton Schifcofske; Timoci Nagusa, Darren Cave, Paddy Wallace (capt), Andrew Trimble; Ian Humphreys, Isaac Boss; Tom Court, Andy Kyriacou, BJ Botha, Ed O’Donoghue, Ryan Caldwell, Stephen Ferris, Willie Faloon, Robbie Diack.

Replacements: Nigel Brady, Bryan Young, Declan Fitzpatrick, Dan Tuohy, Chris Henry, Paul Marshall, Ian Whitten, Simon Danielli.