Jump to main content


Munster Confirm Squad For Treviso Tie

Munster Confirm Squad For Treviso Tie

Munster coach Tony McGahan has finalised a 26-man squad for the province’s Heineken Cup Pool 1 clash with Benetton Treviso this Saturday at Thomond Park Stadium (kick-off 1.35pm).

There is one omission from last week’s squad with prop Dave Ryan not included due to an elbow injury picked up at the weekend playing AIB League rugby for Dolphin.

Looking forward to Saturday’s meeting with Italian side Treviso, who scored a shock 9-8 win over Perpignan in round one, Munster team manager Shaun Payne said: “I can absolutely guarantee you that the only thing we’re focusing on this weekend is winning the game especially after what’s happened with Treviso against Perpignan.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“There will be no talk about bonus points. We will go out there, play our normal game, look to put them under pressure and hope to take our opportunities when they come.

“There was no magic wand with Treviso’s victory over Perpignan. They had excellent first phase. The weather played a part in it.

“Perpignan went in maybe expecting a victory and in the first 45 seconds they got mauled half the length of the pitch, collapsed the maul and a penalty was awarded against them. And that set the tone.”

MUNSTER Squad (v Benetton Treviso) – Backs (11): Tomas O’Leary, Peter Stringer, Toby Morland, Ronan O’Gara, Paul Warwick, Lifeimi Mafi, Jean de Villiers, Doug Howlett, Denis Hurley, Ian Dowling, Keith Earls.

Forwards (15): Marcus Horan, Tony Buckley, Julien Brugnaut, Darragh Hurley, Denis Fogarty, Jerry Flannery, Mick O’Driscoll, Paul O’Connell, Donncha O’Callaghan, Dave Ryan, Alan Quinlan, David Wallace, Nick Williams, Denis Leamy, Niall Ronan.