Jump to main content


Munster Confirm Squad For Northampton Trip

Munster Confirm Squad For Northampton Trip

Munster coach Tony McGahan has named a 27-man squad for the province’s opening Heineken Cup Pool 1 game against Northampton Saints at Franklin’s Gardens on Saturday (kick-off 6pm).

The Munster squad came together on Thursday morning at Musgrave Park for a final training session before they depart for Northampton on Friday.

Scrum half Tomas O’Leary spoke afterwards about his own recovery from an ankle injury and the return to Heineken Cup action.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“Yeah, I’m feeling good and have a few games under my belt now and I’m looking forward to Saturday,” he said.

“When I get out on the pitch it’s definitely not on my mind and I’m just concentrating on my game and forgetting about the injury. It’s great.”

He added: “None of us played well against Leinster last weekend and we’ve addressed that now and there is no point dwelling on it.

“Saturday is the most important thing and getting off to a good start, the Heineken Cup is such a big part of our season.

“Northampton are a very formidable side with a great home record, a very good pack and half-backs, with stong runners coming in off the wings. We just need to win it and we’re going over with that aim on Saturday.”

MUNSTER Squad (v Northampton Saints) Backs (11): Tomas O’Leary, Toby Morland, Peter Stringer, Ronan O’Gara, Paul Warwick, Jean de Villiers, Lifeimi Mafi, Doug Howlett, Ian Dowling, Denis Hurley, Keith Earls.

Forwards (16): Marcus Horan, Julien Brugnaut, Tony Buckley, Darragh Hurley, Dave Ryan, Denis Fogarty, Jerry Flannery, Donncha O’Callaghan, Mick O’Driscoll, Paul O’Connell, Donnacha Ryan, Denis Leamy, Niall Ronan, David Wallace, Nick Williams, Alan Quinlan.