Jump to main content


Caldwell Named In Extended Ulster Squad

Caldwell Named In Extended Ulster Squad

Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin has named a 26-man squad for the province’s Magners League meeting with the Scarlets at Ravenhill on Friday (kick-off 7.05pm).

Ireland lock Ryan Caldwell returns to the Ulster squad after recovering from an ankle injury, while Tamaiti Horua, Niall O’Connor, Mark McCrea and Academy player Ian Porter all receive call-ups.

Having sustained injuries in last weekend’s 30-6 derby win over Connacht, Simon Danielli and Dan Tuohy have joined Ulster’s injury list.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Rory Best, David Pollock, Bryn Cunningham, Matt McCullough and Cillian Willis are also not currently available for selection due to various injuries.

But Ireland and Lions flanker Stephen Ferris is in contention make the matchday squad. He sustained a back injury in training last week, which meant he was a late withdrawal for the Connacht game. A decision on his fitness will be made on Thursday.

Commenting on the squad’s development to date this season, head coach Brian McLaughlin said: “We are making progress and are starting to play good, strong rugby, but we have a bit of distance to go yet.

“There are still improvements to be made and skills to be perfected, but we will continue to work and improve and fight our corner every week.

“It’s about learning from your mistakes and continuing to make improvements after each game. I think we are making good headway.

“The players are working extremely hard and buying into the ideas that I and the other coaches – Jeremy Davidson, Peter Sharp and Neil Doak – are bringing to them.

“We are pleased and positive about how things have gone to date.”

McLaughlin’s men are fourth in the Magners League table ahead of their televised clash with the second-from-bottom Scarlets.

The province’s team and replacements will be confirmed on Thursday afternoon.

ULSTER Squad (v Scarlets): Backs (12) – Timoci Nagusa, Darren Cave, Andrew Trimble, Ian Whitten, Paul Marshall, Isaac Boss, Ian Humphreys, Paddy Wallace, Clinton Schifcofske, Ian Porter, Niall O’Connor, Mark McCrea.

Forwards (14) – Nigel Brady, BJ Botha, Bryan Young, Ed O’Donoghue, Andy Kyriacou, Chris Henry, Stephen Ferris, Willie Faloon, Thomas Anderson, Neil McComb, Tom Court, Declan Fitzpatrick, Ryan Caldwell, Tamaiti Horua.