Jump to main content


Ulster Select Squad For First Derby

Ulster Select Squad For First Derby

Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin has named a 24-man squad ahead of the first provincial derby of the Magners League season – Ulster’s trip to Galway to face Connacht on Friday evening (kick-off 8pm).

Ulster lock Dan Tuohy returns to the squad after recovering from an injury sustained in the win away to the Ospreys.

With David Pollock, Ryan Caldwell, Bryn Cunningham, Matt McCullough and Rory Best all still unavailable for selection through injury, Tuohy’s return is most welcome for Ulster.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Speaking after the province’s home defeat to Edinburgh last Friday, stand-in captain Chris Henry said: “It’s a very disappointed changing room, particularly after the highs of the Ospreys game.

“We just do not know how we lost that game, and we should not have.

“But we will learn from it and will go forward. At least we came out at the start of the match with the same determination and attitude as the game last week and I think that is important. 

“Connacht had a good win against Cardiff so we know we will have to bring another performance again to Galway and hopefully this time we will come out on the right end of the scoreline.”

Brian McLaughlin will confirm his matchday 22 on Thursday afternoon.

ULSTER Squad (v Connacht): Backs (10) – Timoci Nagusa, Darren Cave, Andrew Trimble, Simon Danielli, Ian Whitten, Paul Marshall, Isaac Boss, Ian Humphreys, Paddy Wallace, Clinton Schifcofske.

Forwards (14) – Nigel Brady, BJ Botha, Bryan Young, Ed O’Donoghue, Andy Kyriacou, Dan Tuohy, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Stephen Ferris, Willie Faloon, Thomas Anderson, Neil McComb, Tom Court, Declan Fitzpatrick.