Jump to main content


Connacht Squad Announced For Ospreys Clash

Connacht Squad Announced For Ospreys Clash

Five of Connacht’s new signings could make their competitive debuts on Friday when Michael Bradley’s men take on the Ospreys in the opening game of the Magners League at the Sportsground (kick-off 7pm).

Winger Brian Tuohy, out-half Miah Nikora, prop Jamie Hagan, lock Bernie Upton and number 8 Mike McComish have been included in the 22-man squad for Connacht’s first Magners League game of the new season.

The team and replacements will be announced on Thursday morning.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Speaking ahead of the game, Connacht captain John Muldoon said: “We’ve had three pre-season games and I think we used 30 or so players in total in those games, which is what pre-season is all about – getting guys on the pitch and getting the new guys bedded in.

“Since the fixtures were released, everything has been geared towards the Ospreys game, and that is what we have been focused on for the last couple of weeks.

“At this stage we can’t wait to get out on the pitch and get a crack at them.”

CONNACHT Squad (v Ospreys): Backs (10) – Fionn Carr, Gavin Duffy, Ian Keatley, Keith Matthews, Frank Murphy, Troy Nathan, Miah Nikora, Conor O’Loughlin, Niva Ta’auso, Brian Tuohy.

Forwards (12) – Andrew Browne, Sean Cronin, Adrian Flavin, Jamie Hagan, Mike McComish, Robbie Morris, John Muldoon (capt), Johnny O’Connor, Ray Ofisa, Michael Swift, Bernie Upton, Brett Wilkinson.