Jump to main content


Four Changes For Munster

Four Changes For Munster

Munster coach Tony McGahan, in making four changes to the team that started against Sale Sharks, welcomes back Munster’s newest Ireland internationals Denis Hurley and Niall Ronan as well as Tony Buckley and Denis Leamy for Friday’s clash with London Irish (Musgrave Park, kick-off 7pm).

Also included in Munster’s matchday squad are experienced Ireland internationals Mick O’Driscoll and Peter Stringer along with Felix Jones, who made such an impression in the course of Ireland’s Churchill Cup triumph.

Tony Buckley comes into the front row in place of Academy player Stephen Archer, who is named on the bench, with Niall Ronan in for the injured Nick Williams and another Academy player, Kieran Essex, making way for Denis Leamy.

London Irish, fresh from their victory in the Middlesex Sevens last weekend, have named a strong squad for Friday’s game.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Twelve of their selected players are full internationals and nine of those were in the squad that won the Middlesex Sevens at Twickenham.

Tickets are still available to purchase online and from the the Thomond Park Stadium and Munster Rugby Office (Tramore Road) and tickets will also be on sale on the night of the game at the ground.

MUNSTER (v London Irish) – Denis Hurley; Danny Riordan, Tom Gleeson, Paul Warwick (capt), Danny Barnes; Jeremy Manning, Toby Morland; Dave Ryan, Damien Varley, Tony Buckley, Ian Nagle, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, Niall Ronan, Denis Leamy.

Replacements (from): Denis Fogarty, Julien Brugnaut, Ronan O’Mahony, Stephen Archer, Felix Jones, Scott Deasy, Peter Stringer, Eoghan Grace, Mick O’Driscoll.