Jump to main content


O’Connell To Lead Munster In Final League Game

O’Connell To Lead Munster In Final League Game

Paul O’Connell will lead Munster in the final game of the season, Friday’s Magners League clash with the Ospreys at Thomond Park (kick-off 7.45pm).

The selected squad includes four of Paul O’Connell’s Lions colleagues – Ronan O’Gara, Keith Earls, Donncha O’Callaghan and David Wallace – all of whom are due to depart for London on Monday to join up with the Lions touring party.

The game may well see the final appearance in a Munster jersey of the province’s longest serving players – Anthony Horgan and Frankie Sheahan – as a well as a last showing for Mike Prendergast, Kieran Lewis, Federico Pucciariello, John O’Sullivan and Michael Essex.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

When the game ends on Friday night, Munster will be presented with 2008/09 Magners League trophy and officially crowned champions.

MUNSTER Squad (v Ospreys): Backs (11) – Doug Howlett, Barry Murphy, Keith Earls, Ian Dowling, Lifeimi Mafi, Kieran Lewis, Anthony Horgan, Paul Warwick, Ronan O’Gara, Peter Stringer, Mike Prendergast.

Forwards (14) – Federico Pucciariello, Dave Ryan, Denis Fogarty, Mike Essex, Frankie Sheahan, Tony Buckley, Mick O’Driscoll, John O’Sullivan, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell, Donnacha Ryan, David Wallace, Niall Ronan, Denis Leamy.