Jump to main content


Academy Players Promoted To Leinster Squad

Academy Players Promoted To Leinster Squad

The Leinster squad to face the Newport Gwent Dragons in their final Magners League game of the season at Rodney Parade (kick-off 5.30pm) on Saturday has been named.

Head coach Michael Cheika has taken the opportunity to rest his frontline players ahead of Saturday week’s Heineken Cup final against Leicester Tigers.

Hoping for some game-time after being sidelined by the mumps, Rob Kearney is included in a squad to face the Dragons which shows a blend of youth and experience.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Kearney’s Ireland-capped colleagues Girvan Dempsey and Trevor Hogan join the likes of Sean O’Brien, Stephen Keogh, Devin Toner, Ronan McCormack, Fergus McFadden and John Fogarty who have all featured in Leinster’s recent victories over Glasgow, Munster and the Scarlets.

Paul O’Donohoe is also named in the panel after putting in a man-of-the-match display for Clontarf in last weekend’s AIB League Division One final against Shannon.

The former Ireland Under-20 Grand Slam-winning scrum half is one of nine Leinster Academy members in the provisional panel which will be reduced on Friday afternoon.

LEINSTER Squad (v Newport Gwent Dragons): Backs (11) – Chris Keane, Paul O’Donohoe, Ian Madigan, Ian McKinley, Rob Kearney, Fergus McFadden, Kyle Tonetti, Simon Keogh, Niall Morris, David Kearney, Girvan Dempsey. 

Forwards (13) – Ronan McCormack, Brian Blaney, John Fogarty, Jason Harris-Wright, Jamie Hagan, Stephen Knoop, Trevor Hogan, Devin Toner, Cameron Jowitt, Kevin McLaughlin, Paul Ryan, Sean O’Brien, Stephen Keogh.