Jump to main content


Scrum Half Murray Included By Munster

Scrum Half Murray Included By Munster

Paul O’Connell is set to lead Munster into their final away game of the season, as the new Magners League champions take on the Cardiff Blues at the Arms Park this Sunday (kick-off 4.35pm).

The selected Munster squad includes Academy player Conor Murray and sub Academy player Mike Sherry, two young players from Garryowen.

Murray featured for the Ireland Under-20s during this season’s RBS U-20 6 Nations Championship, while Sherry was a key member of the Garryowen side that reached the AIB League Division One semi-finals.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Sherry is named as cover for Mike Essex who will be involved with Shannon in Saturday’s Division One final against Clontarf.

For Munster, this week is all about bouncing back from last weekend’s Heineken Cup humbling at the hands of Leinster.

Munster captain Paul O’Connell said: “Losing (the semi-final) was unbelievably hard to take. These are the games that will be remembered for a long time, especially with it being at Croke Park.

“Unfortunately we didn’t just lose – we were very well beaten. It was tough to take, but that’s sport.

“It was a very disappointing performance from our behalf. It had a lot to do with how Leinster performed as well. It’s going to be a tough couple of weeks now, but that’s sport and we’ll be looking to put in a big performance against Cardiff.”

MUNSTER Squad (v Cardiff Blues): Backs (12) – Denis Hurley, Paul Warwick, Brian Carney, Doug Howlett, Barry Murphy, Keith Earls, Ian Dowling, Jeremy Manning, Kieran Lewis, Peter Stringer, Conor Murray, Mike Prendergast.

Forwards (14) – Federico Pucciariello, Marcus Horan, Denis Fogarty, Mike Essex, Mike Sherry, John Hayes, Tony Buckley, Mick O’Driscoll, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell, Nick Williams, James Coughlan, Niall Ronan, Denis Leamy.