Jump to main content


Ulster Announce Squad For Connacht Clash

Ulster Announce Squad For Connacht Clash

Ulster coach Matt Williams has named a 25-man squad for his side’s penultimate game of the Magners League campaign against their provincial rivals Connacht this Friday (The Sportsground, kick-off 7pm).

However, there are injury doubts concerning Ulster’s first choice centres, Paddy Wallace and Darren Cave.

Wallace, who was in the wars during Ireland’s Grand Slam run, took another blow to the head early on in the province’s recent home defeat to Cardiff.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Cave also shipped a knock late on in that 11-9 loss but is winning his fitness battle and looks poised to start alongside Ian Whitten, should Wallace be ruled out.

Ulster coach Matt Williams said: “Given the nature of the injuries, and in particular Paddy’s situation in that it has happened before, we are waiting for expert opinion from the medics before making a decision.”

The last time Ulster and Connacht met in the league was in November at Ravenhill, when Williams’ charges recorded their largest victory of the season with a 40-point win.

Already assured of Heineken Cup qualification, Ulster will be gunning for a return to winning ways in Galway as they seek a mid-table finish to round off the 2008/09 season.

“We have a lot of respect for Connacht, they are a good side and play a hard game of rugby, but we are more determined than ever and we are going out to win,” Williams said.

“We are on track for a mid-table finish to the season, and will be after maximum points from our last two fixtures to secure this.”

The following players were not considered due to injury: Andrew Trimble, Bryn Cunningham, Paul Steinmetz and Thomas Anderson.

ULSTER Squad (v Connacht): Backs (11) – Isaac Boss, Darren Cave, Simon Danielli, Rob Dewey, Ian Humphreys, Paul Marshall, Timoci Nagusa, Niall O’Connor, Clinton Schifcofske, Paddy Wallace, Ian Whitten.

Forwards (14) – Rory Best, BJ Botha, Nigel Brady, Ryan Caldwell, Tom Court, Robbie Diack, Ed O’Donoghue, Willie Falloon, Stephen Ferris, Chris Henry, Matt McCullough, David Pollock, Daniel Roach, Bryan Young.