Jump to main content


Nominees Announced For Connacht Rugby Awards

Nominees Announced For Connacht Rugby Awards

The Connacht Rugby Awards will take place in the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa on Saturday, May 16. The award nominees have been announced with John Muldoon, Ray Ofisa and Gavin Duffy in the running for the Senior Player of the Year gong.

The Connacht Rugby Awards acknowledge and reward outstanding players in the province in their categories from schoolboys, underage, junior and senior club players right up to the professionals.

The guest of honour on the night will be Ireland’s Grand Slam-winning coach Declan Kidney, while Connacht’s Hall of Fame recipient has been confirmed as Brendan Guerin.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Tickets are priced at €85 or €850 for a table of ten and are available from the Connacht Branch Office on tel: 091 561568 .

The event is black tie and if your company is interested in sponsoring an award , ere are a couple of categories remaining. Please call Fiona Keys on 091 561568 for details.

The event promises to be a great night with a drinks reception at 7.30pm followed by a four course meal at 8pm.

The awards will take place after the dinner and there will be dancing until late.


Connacht Under-19s –

James Robinson (Corinthians), Shane Conneely (Corinthians/Jes), Eoin Griffin (Corinthians/Jes)

Connacht Under-18 Schools –

Aaron Spring (Sligo Grammar/Sligo RFC), Rory Cunning (Jes/Galwegians), David Garvey (Bish/Galwegians)

Connacht Under-18 Youths –

Eoin McKeown (Galwegians/Jes), Danny Qualter (Athlone Community College/Buccaneers), Aaron Conneely (Corinthians/Jes)

Connacht Under-20s –

Dermot Murphy (Galwegians), Joe Moran (Galwegians), John O’Brien (Buccaneers)

Connacht Women’s –

Tandy Johnson (Galwegians), Helen Jones (Highfield), Claire Molloy (Cardiff Harlequins)

Junior Club Player –

Dave Prior (OLBC), Liam Scahill (Westport), Eoin Rooney (Monivea)

Senior Club Player –

John Cleary (Galwegians), Darin Claasen (Corinthians), Pat Cunningham (Corinthians)

Connacht Club of the Year –

Corinthians RFC, Monivea RFC, Ballinrobe RFC

Referee of the Year –

Joe Doyne, Emmet Dormer, Daithi Flood

Clubman of the Year –

John Carr (Tuam RFC), Conor Frazer (Sligo RFC), Henry O’Toole (Connemara RFC)

Connacht Senior Player of the Year –

John Muldoon, Ray Ofisa, Gavin Duffy

Young Player of the Year –

Liam Bibo, Sean Cronin, Ian Keatley

Special Awards:

Hall of Fame – Brendan Guerin

Contribution to Irish rugby and the winning of the Grand Slam – Mervyn Murphy